top of page
  • C. Braun

Why "When Am I Going to Use This?" Was Created

Updated: Sep 23, 2022

I'm C. Braun, the creator of When Am I Going to Use This?, and I'll tell you exactly why.

 

Math has always been my favorite class in school because I have been perpetually fascinated by how life's problems can be solved using a simple set of ten digits (0-9) and a handful of equations. When I started high school, the math taught to me was even more complex than any math I had done before, strengthening my love for the subject. However, my peers never liked it as much as I did.


 

Soon, I kept hearing the same question every day in class and outside of it as the resident math lover of both environments: When am I going to use this?

Every time I thought about it, and it eventually started gnawing at me. I couldn't really give a full answer because I didn't know a handful of its applications myself. In this spirit of curiosity, I decided to create When Am I Going to Use This?, a website where I could share my research and explain the real-life applications of math in a way that is accessible and applicable to many.


 

Here, my goal is to save you the complicated and, quite possibly, confusing math jargon that your math teacher probably spits out at you. I have nothing against math teachers, but it's frustrating to get even more confused about a topic when you look online for clarity on what was taught to you. This website's purpose is to act as a gateway between math and the world you live in. Math is in and around your life every single day, but my hope is that you can come to a better realization of it from whatever enlightenment I can give you on the subject.


 

Moving forward, each subject of high school math will be covered in a series of blog posts breaking down the basic components and relevance of each subject, then pointing to their real-life applications. I will also venture out of this and relate math to other aspects of my life, while getting input from other writers. Thank you for stopping by my website and feel free to come along for the ride.











110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Science of a New Year's Resolution

It is officially 2023, and many people have made New Year's resolutions, including myself. In the past, I've made some resolutions that I did not keep, and I was wondering how I could stick to my reso

bottom of page